The Powers of The “Five Eyes” – Are “they” spying on you?

A secret court authorization allows the NSA to spy on all of the world’s countries except four, one of them being Canada, according to U.S. government documents obtained by the Washington Post.

The NSA automatically filters out phone calls from Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, the Post reports, essentially making those the only countries in the world the U.S.’s electronic spy agency isn’t authorized to monitor.

The documents came by way of a leak from NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden. They show the U.S.’s Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court authorized NSA surveillance of 193 countries. Only those four countries are missing from the list.

But that doesn’t mean Canadians are immune from mass surveillance. The reason the NSA skips over these four countries is that they, along with the U.S., are members of the “Five Eyes,” a Cold War-era alliance that allows the five countries to share “signals intelligence” amongst themselves.

Critics of the program say the Five Eyes alliance is essentially a runaround of these countries’ privacy laws, which forbid warrantless surveillance of their own citizens. Surveillance on a given country is carried out by one of the other partner countries, they allege.

Source: NSA Not Spying On Canadians, But The ‘Five Eyes’ Are

Break free from the slavery!


About The Author


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>